Dude, where’s my car?

After 7 years of being a driver, I am, for the first time, car-less. Today I signed over my ownership of a car that has served me well for years. Living in London, I don’t need a car for every day and since moving back with my mum I need it even less than I did before. After repeated attempts at replacing the catalytic converter, exhaust and various bits and pieces, the last straw came earlier this year when my mechanic told me it would likely need a new gearbox. Considering it was only a cheap-ish car, it didn’t make sense to keep it. That and the fact that by giving it back I’ve wiped off around £6k worth of debt. Piece of advice for people who aren’t particularly savvy like me – check any finance agreement you sign up to!!

I thought I’d feel a bit sad about handing it back but when I got the call today to tell me they’d be able to collect it, I felt excitement. My mum has always said that to make room for new things in your life, you have to get rid of the old. I’ve felt trapped with my car for a long time. With no savings I couldn’t go and buy one outright and with the value of the car depreciating every year, I was stuck between a rock and a hard place. After finally making the calls and decision to sign it over, I’ve felt free.

I have a lot of good memories in that car, particularly with my ex. We used to go for drives all the time and once we even followed the moon, ending up in Essex somewhere. But then I have a lot of crap memories too. We’ve had some pretty heated arguments when one of us were behind the wheel. When I watched it being towed away, I felt nothing but a sense of freedom. My total debt has been significantly reduced, my monthly outgoings have been reduced since my insurance has been cancelled and it feels like a chapter has been closed in some way or other. I feel like I’m carrying around a lot less baggage and (hopefully) it won’t dent my social life.

I went out with Miss America tonight to have some shisha and kebabs on Edgware Road (no, not donor kebabs but the real thing). It was an unplanned outing and I had a great time with her, her husband and kids and their friends. I couldn’t fail to notice the cars driving past – Maserati’s, Porsches, Ferrari’s and more. Clearly I need to find me a rich Arab husband! I had a lovely time, even though it meant I lost track of time and missed my session with my Gym Buddy. I was hoping to get into the boxing ring and try it out but it’ll have to go on hold for another time. I’d say it would be next week but it’s Mr Music’s leaving do so hopefully I’ll be busy doing other things.

It’s been a hectic week in some ways, but I’m looking forward to the weekend and getting some time to chill out. With my car gone I feel heaps lighter and I’m actually excited about what’s going to come next…

7 thoughts on “Dude, where’s my car?

    • Wow no way! That’s pretty major for a system to go down. As broken as the tube is sometimes I couldn’t imagine London without it. I only work 20mins from home and my travel is free, so I’m pretty much sorted. Would love 2 wheels though 🙂

      Thanks for Reblogging!

      • We are in so much trouble here. The candle is burning and no action. If our BART system goes down, this would pretty much be havoc on the entire grid. Traffic would melt down. Parking in SF is $45 a day in some places and parking tickets are at least $65 per incident. Still you should find yourself a very nice Porsche 914 or 912 before they get really expensive. I might suggest the 944 Turbo, but that is kind of where you;ll need to really decide if driving is worth it. I filled up my 17 gallon tank the other day… the problem is that I already gave my right leg on that last fill-up. smiles on the reblog – youre nice.

      • Ha, as much as I’d love to be able to afford a Porsche, it’s a little out of my remit right now! Have to say I had no idea parking and stuff was so expensive over there 😦 kinda offsets the cheap gas!!

Want to say something about my post?

